2019. ápr 08.

The Onewheel arrives and cuts my comb

írta: mujo
The Onewheel arrives and cuts my comb

Traversing the German speaking territories, the Onewheel finally arrives to Hungary, but my streak of bad luck continues. Charlie Chaplin is a newbie noname compared to me.

img_20190326_201911_burst6.jpg

Ugyanez magyarul

According to the parcel company, the package arrives Tuesday afternoon, so I hit my favourite old rollerblading store called Skateworld to get some protective gear. Helmet: check, wristguards: check, I am so ready.

Since I expected the Onewheel to arrive last week, I asked it to be shipped to my home address, but now I am back to work, so this is not quite as convenient as I originally imagined it. It's supposed to arrive between 3-5PM, so I pull a work from home after lunch, sitting on pins and needles. Just to be sure, I called the driver in the morning to let him know which door-bell is mine, I don't want to leave it up to chance.

Time keeps passing, it's 5PM, but the Onewheel is nowhere. I grab my phone to call the driver, and I see that I have a bunch of missed calls. Holy crap, somehow I managed to switch to do-not-disturb mode, and the driver kept calling me, but to no avail. He did not even try the door-bell. I can't be this much of a loser, can I?

Well, shit happens, what can we do? He is already on his way back to the warehouse. Okay, can I go there in person to pick up the package? It's possible, but it's pretty far away, an hour long drive at least. Damn, what are the options? He can come again tomorrow, maybe hitting my workplace, but it's not likely, for they are not allowed to deviate from their usual route. Shit, am I really gonna miss another day because of my dumbness? How far you got? He is on the boulevard near to Népliget.

That's not that bad, any chance to meet somewhere there? Well, he is getting hungry, he can stop by the gyros kiosk nearby, and we can meet if I hurry. I can't thank him enough. I jump into a taxi, onward to Népliget. The traffic is as horrible as usual around 5PM, but luckily we arrive while the gyros lasts. Got the huge carton box, back to the taxi, let's go home. Around 6PM I am back at home, and it's quite hard to believe, but finally, I have a Onewheel of my own.

I remember vividly, how cool and easy it was last time, so I am quite sure that tomorrow I am gonna commute with it right away. I hit the streets to give it go, plus to visit the nearby public bicycle pump at Almássy square to check the tire pressure. This barely one kilometer trip takes about 30 minutes to for me to travel.

In the meantime I fall three times, I pull a groin and I accidentally deflate the tire with the pump. Thanks to the weird flapping noise, I realise the problem and go back to inflate it properly, well, hopefully properly this time, then I head home. I stop for every pedestrian, waiting to have some distance, I unmount on every corner and carry the Onewheel over, it's a hilariously bad joke what I am doing.

I sit down at home and give some serious thinking to the whole thing. It's not gonna work like this. I need a pump of my own. I need to figure out quickly where I am gonna practice, for I am a scaredy cat on the streets, a danger to myself and everyone around me. Despite the cold shower the first evening poured over me, I don't lose my enthusiasm, I grin like a lunatic, and I am quite sure that it can only get better from here.

Szólj hozzá

english beginnings onewheel